When peace like a river

8 Jan

Flows freely after my shower…yeah I know those aren’t the real words, but a little over 2.5 years ago I became a mom, ever since I have cherished a shower! The most amazing sound is when I turn the water off and there are no screaming babies, just silence! It is by far one of the most amazing and well….rare things in our house. But today, today it happened. It’s a snow day so He-Wood is home working on the computer, Wee-Wood 1 is watching Hello Kitty and Wee-Wood 2 is sleeping! (that was a fight but another blog for another day).

In the beginning God created the heavens and the earth…wait wrong story, I would cry because I couldn’t get a shower, never would’ve guessed that would be my escape. Gross but honest. Then He-Wood told me to shower. Crazy idea but moms come in many different forms. I’ve always envied those moms who can get schedules and potty-train their kids by their first bday, recite the alphabet forward and back by 18months, and have their kids sleep in their respective beds. Not me…I’m such a wimp. I guess looking at it I have my own areas to be proud of with mothering but discipline lately isn’t one of them. But a shower today I got. I haven’t blow dried my hair but baby steps right?! Anyhow, I think moms comparing themselves to other moms can sometimes be the worst thing a mom can do. Then I think about church, cuz well it’s what I do. And with that it makes me thankful for the role models I have at church. Granted many of my friends I admire for those scheduling but they also have provided me with an example of how to do things and advise. Somehow this blog now makes no sense…but to me it’s my thought for today. I’m trying and I’m thankful that my little babies enjoy a shower or sleeping with their momma. Off to tend to them.

2 Responses to “When peace like a river”

  1. Tiff January 8, 2010 at 1:26 pm #

    Love it! I feel ya, girl! Makes total sense, and I am right there with you!! 🙂

  2. David January 8, 2010 at 8:44 pm #

    Well, it’s a little less spiritual than the previous post (He-wood’s), but definitely not “blog vomit” or whatever you called it in your facebook status. My wife is a shower junkie. I have to shower first or she uses all of the hot water. I wonder if it will change when we have kids? As for me, shoot, there are Saturday’s where I don’t shower at all (I’m such a guy). May be it’s just a feeling of escape. For me, I have a 45-60 minute commute from Forsyth county to Ga Tech, so I get enough “alone time” then. Hope ya’ll are doing well.

Leave a Reply

