It can’t be the way it is anymore…I can’t be the way I am anymore

16 Mar

Tomorrow night we will begin a new study with the youth at Westside Baptist Church.  We are going to struggle our way through Francis Chan’s new book The Forgotten God.  I use the word struggle intentionally.  I am both overjoyed and terrified of this study at the same time.  Having read through the first couple of chapters, I have been incredibly challenged by Chan’s words.  We really do have an incorrect view of the Holy Spirit and the power that He provides to us as believers.  I know I do.  I hardly ever think of having a single day of ministry that is comparable to one day of ministry that was experienced by Paul, Peter, or any of the other disciples.  However, if we are to believe the words of Jesus, those types of days are well within the scope of modern ministry with the help of the Holy Spirit. I really look forward to what I believe is going to be great in the lives of our youth as we try to grasp abetter understanding of who the Holy Spirit is, what He does in us, and how we tap into His power.  I love what Francis Chan writes on page 37 of the book, and I have decided to make it my motto, “I am tired of living in a way that looks exactly like people who do not have the Holy Spirit of God living in them.  I want to consistently live with an awareness of His strength.  I want to be different today from what I was yesterday as the fruit of the spirit becomes more manifest in me.”  Think about that, and decide if it is something that you can build your life around.

One Response to “It can’t be the way it is anymore…I can’t be the way I am anymore”

  1. Kim March 16, 2010 at 3:21 pm #

    Sounds good to me. Looking forward to it. Hoping the wee-woods are kind to let me participate

Leave a Reply

