I am overcome by the Spirit of the one risen Savior reigning King

9 Jul

The only thing I can say is wow.  I don’t think that I have been this emotionally and physically spent in quite a long time.  However, there is no other way that I would rather be right now!  I cannot even begin to explain to you how God moved in the hearts of our students today, but I will try.

As I have said on several occasions, I came into this week very expectant for there to be a great breakthrough in the lives of our youth in correlation to their relationship with God.  God could not have come through in a bigger way than He did tonight!  I was praying that during our final session this evening that God would move mightily.  As we began the session, I was still in prayer for God’s presence to fall on the students.  At the end of the session God’s work was becoming evident and He had really shown up in a big way.  There was genuine brokenness and contrition in a few youth at the end of the service.  We spent a while in prayer there in the auditorium, in fact we ended up being one of the last groups out of the room.  As we got back to the hotel for church group time, the Lord was still at work in the hearts of all of the students.  As we began our time I told them that I was simply going to let the floor be open so that people could respond to what God was doing in their hearts and minds.  The dominoes began to fall.

I was overwhelmed at the weight of shame and guilt that some of our youth carry with them on a daily basis.  However, after tonight I rejoice in the fact that they have been set free from the bondage to sin and death, and they have been relieved of the burdens that they have lived under.  It is late as I am writing this, because we have just finished talking with each other.  It has been an amazing evening of confession, supplication, and redemption.  Know that I have been praying for God to move in a great way.  He has not delayed in granting this request, and my expectancy has turned into rejoicing in the work of the Lord.  The next step in the process of coming into right relationship with God will be when we get home tomorrow afternoon.  It is at that point that the accountability process begins.  I have covenanted with the youth to keep them accountable for the commitments they have made this evening.  I know that when the real world hits them in the face it will be difficult for the proper decisions to be made.  It is at that point that they must pray for the power and strength of Jesus to help them make the correct decisions.  We have learned this week that the gospel is that.  The fact is that God never intended for us to do things on our own.  Salvation was not designed that way.  The gospel is that salvation was designed to get us to stop trying and let Jesus and the Holy Spirit to do in us.  Matt Chandler made the statement this morning, “Dead guys don’t do stuff.”  The fact is that we are all dead in our transgressions before Jesus comes into our hearts.  God never intended for us to have to struggle through life on our own, but rather He wants to live our life in our bodies for us.

God has moved greatly in our lives this week! It has been such a blessing for me to get to be a small part of God’s work in the lives of these students.  They are all precious, and they are beginning to see that God has HUGE plans for their lives.

Leave a Reply

