I’m much to young to feel this dang old…

3 Sep

Yesterday morning I led chapel for Cumberland Christian Academy middle school.  It went great.  I love helping with the kids there.  We sang a few songs and then I spoke to them about Faith vs. Fear using Psalm 27 as my text.  It was a great time together.  However, there was one point where I was very quickly reminded that I am a little older than I think.  Toward the end of talk I made the statement, “When you become a Christian it will not always be champagne wishes and caviar dreams.”  The totally blank stares that I received made me realize that these 6th, 7th, and 8th graders have grown up never knowing what Lifestyles of the Rich and Famous is.  I looked at a couple of the teachers and said that is probably over their heads.  They laughed and I continued on with the end of the talk.  It got me thinking though about how things have changed even since I was a kid, and I’m only 26 years old.  It also got me thinking about how things for my kids will be.  Wee-wood 1 and Wee-wood 2 will grow up in a time where they will never be without the internet, cellphones, and 200 channels of cable TV.  The CD will be for them what the 8-track tape was for me.  A classic car for them will have been made in the late 1980s or early 1990s.  The current church environment for them is one where music is led by bands and vocal groups rather than choirs and a song leader.  Through all of this thought I just realized that what my parents and others said is very true.  Time flies by.  You blink and your kids are grown and you are older than you think.  It makes me realize how much I need to cherish every moment as it could be the last.  I also wanted to ask what everyone else was thinking about in regard to feeling old.  What things do you notice that have changed since you were young, and what was old to you when you were younger?  Sound off.

Leave a Reply

