Oh and I, I will survive…

13 Sep

I have been thinking this morning about survival and what it takes to survive.  As a youth pastor I am, quite obviously, constantly working in the lives of young people.  It has become ever more apparent to me that it is becoming increasingly difficult for youth to survive, spiritually and mentally, in today’s environment.  I have become aware that it takes an immense amount of courage to survive as a Christian youth today.  I know that I am not that far removed from high school, but in just the 8 short years since I was in high school things have changed drastically.  It is almost dangerous to label yourself a Christian in American youth culture.  You are most definitely setting yourself on a very difficult course that will lead through persecution, ridicule, and often banishment from the popular scene.  What an incredibly difficult place to be for an adult, much less a teenager?

However, through all of this enlightenment, so to speak, I have come to this conclusion:  There is no better place to be.  What an honor to be considered worthy of such hardship for the name of the Almighty Creator of the universe.  So what if you miss out on a few parties?  Those parties lead to feelings of shame and brokenness.  So what if you are left out of the “popular” group?  Those at the peak of popularity are usually shallow and self-indulgent.  You are being labeled a Christian. A follower of the Creator of the universe.  That is the best label you can possibly have.  I think that the American Christian teenager has one of the roughest roads to travel in the modern cultural landscape, but I also think that God can overcome all of it.  It takes courage, and a lot of it, to survive as an American Teenager.  For this reason, I have decided to do my best to encourage the ones I have influence over to stay the course of following after the God of the universe.

Leave a Reply

