All Along the Watchtower

7 Jan

I have been reading through Habakkuk over the past few days, and I have only made it to the beginning of chapter 2.  However I think that the way chapter two starts has had a profound effect on me this morning.  Habakkuk 2:1 ends a second complaint that Habakkuk has made to God about the way He is working in Israel at the time.  His first complaint at the beginning of the book is really more of a request for clarification than a complaint, and God answers him.  Habakkuk’s second complaint is more of a true complaint in that he speaks as though he disagrees with God’s methods of judgment for other lands.  You see God was using a wicked nation to destroy other wicked nations, and Habakkuk did not agree with God’s methodology.  However, the aspect of the complaint that impacted me was Habakkuk’s final statement.  In 2:1 Habakkuk says, “I will take my stand at my watchpost and station myself on the tower, and look out to see what he will say to me, and what I will answer concerning my complaint.”

Habakkuk’s relationship ship with God was one of extreme intimacy.  He makes his complaint before God, an let’s his opinion be heard.  However, instead of making his complaint and then turning and running as I often do, Habakkuk stands firm to hear whatever response God has to his complaint.  The impact this had on me is this:  there are going to be times when I do not understand God’s methods, and there will be times when I may even disagree with God’s methods.  However, once I voice my concerns and disagreements, it is my responsibility to wait for God to respond to me.  His response may be one of explanation or it could be similar to the response that Job received when he voiced his concerns with God’s methodology.  Either way I must wait for the response before I run off as if I were the correct one in the situation.  Because if we are being truthful with ourselves, we know that our opinion is not the one that matters.  God is in control and sovereign over every situation.  Although, I think that it is important for us to seek understanding from God when we are struggling with a given situation.

It is my goal from now on to strive to take my place on the watchtower and wait for God to speak in stead of jumping to conclusions of my own.

Leave a Reply

