Come on baby make it hurt so good…

12 Jan

Ahh nothing like a little John Cougar Mellancamp to start a blog off right!  This title will make perfect sense shortly.  I am reading Craig Groeschel’s book “The Christian Atheist” currently and a quote from chapter 1 has been working in me for the past couple weeks so I thought I would blog about it.  Right at the end of the first chapter Craig writes, “Knowing him will make you ache to tell others about him.  Get to know God. When you do, you will never be the same.”  At first read I thought that sounded good.  Little did I realize that a bomb had been implanted in my brain that would not go off until several days later.  I continued reading through the book, and there are many other great blogs to be written in response to what I have read, but nothing has messed me up like those three little sentences have.  Let me explain.

God has brought those sentences to my mind on more than one occasion since I read them initially.  On one of those occasions the brain bomb exploded.  Don’t get me wrong I love to tell others about Jesus and the many things he has done for me, but the thought entered my mind, “When was the last time I actually ached to share the gospel?”  When was the last time that it actually “hurt so good” for me to get out and tell the world about Jesus?  I have been struggling with this over the past few days, and this morning I have felt pressed to deal with it.  This made me turn my thoughts back to the Bible.  Where was there an example of someone hurting for the gospel.  I thought immediately of Paul.  He writes in Philippians from prison.  In Phil. 1:12-14 he writes, “I want you to know, brothers, that what has happened to me has really served to advance the gospel, so that is has become known throughout the whole imperial guard and to all the rest that my imprisonment is for Christ.  And most of the brothers, having become confident in the Lord by my imprisonment, are much more bold to speak the word without fear.”  Paul was not in any way afraid of hurting for the gospel.  He knew, and lived out, the phrase, “Knowing him will make you ache to tell others about him.”

So now I’m back to the question, “Do I ache to tell others the gospel?”  I am praying that God will help me in this desire.  I want to tell everyone I see about Jesus, but at times I feel so inadequate to do so.  It is at those times that I must remember how God uses people in amazing ways despite their inadequacies.  I can be a tool in the hand of the Father that he uses to spread the gospel.  It will hurt at times, because I will be stretched and bent into His mold, but the end result is that it truly “hurts so good.”

Leave a Reply

