Come to the water’s edge all you who know and fear the Lord

18 Jan

As I am preparing for worship this Sunday, I am reading in Matthew 3:11-12 and Luke 3:15-17.  I am intrigued by something that John the Baptist says in those passages.  He tells the crowd around him that the One who is coming after him is much mightier than he is, and that John is unworthy to even carry his sandals.  It is important to note that in the Jewish culture of the day it was considered very low to carry, or even touch, someone’s shoes.  So John is saying that the Messiah’s shoes are so holy, that he can’t even carry them even though that would be considered an extremely dirty thing to do.  The thing that I am wondering is do I revere Jesus like that?  Do I live my life and relationship with Christ in a way that demonstrates that I believe He is the Almighty Creator of the Universe and everything in it?  I think that I struggle with this from time to time.  I have become so influenced by the “Jesus is my homeboy,” and the “Jesus wants to be my friend” rhetoric that I don’t, at times, ascribe the holiness to Jesus that He deserves.  Now I know, that Jesus wants to be in a relationship with me where He is closer than a brother. I understand that to some extent He does want to be my friend.  However, it does not end there.  He wants to be my friend, but there must also be a sense of fear present in my relationship with Him as well.  I am not trying to make you scared of Jesus, but rather I think that we need to keep a healthy fear and reverence of Jesus in the forefront of our minds. My prayer is that I live out my relationship with Jesus in a way that shows others how much a fear and revere him.

Leave a Reply

