We are who we are!

1 Feb

So I know that it may be overwhelming for some to see that there are two posts on the same day on this site, but I promise you they both are good. (She-Wood’s is better than mine though.)  I just wanted to take a minute to sort of piggyback off of her post from earlier this morning.  She spoke of the fact that there can be a lot of hurt and misunderstanding when a “gardener” is weeding in the church family.  This is an undisputed fact from my perspective.  However, the one thing that I would add is that once the weeds are removed, then fertilizer must be spread.  I believe that for the church fertilizer comes in the form of prayer.

I am still reading through The Christian Atheist by Craig Groeschel (I know it is taking me forever).  In chapter 4 he deals with the topic of prayer for the Christian.  He states, “The truth is some Christian Atheists believe in God, but they don’t believe in prayer.  They might claim to believe prayer works, but their actions say otherwise.”  The fact is that in the church we pray, but to what end.  Do we pray to tap into the power that is found in the Holy Spirit, or do we simply do it out of duty?  The fact is that prayer is our mode of communication with God.  Therefore, we have to leverage that to get to know Him better.  Later on in the chapter Groeschel writes, “We each have our favorite modes of communication, and God is fluent in all of them.”  What a great thing to know!  God knows how to speak to us even if we think we don’t know how to speak to Him.  I will be the first to admit that my attention span makes it hard for me to simply sit and pray for hours on end, but I don’t think that God is upset with me about that.  After all, He did create me that way.  Therefore, God also knows how best to communicate with me!  Pour on the fertilizer!

I think that it is time for us begin bathing our churches in “fertilizer” for the sake of Christ.  If our churches are not growing and are being choked out by weeds that breed discontent, then how can we be about the work of the Father?  Let’s pray for God to show up in a mighty way in our churches so that his name will be made great across the globe.  After all we can’t be who we were made to be if we are not in constant communication with the Creator.

One Response to “We are who we are!”

  1. Kim February 1, 2011 at 10:35 am #

    I guess I should add no everyone who leaves is a weed. People can leave church for many reasons start new ministry, new place of business maybe move cities. I hope it didn’t come across that way.

Leave a Reply

