Well she looked at the donut and she looked at me

28 Mar

Did you know if you google songs about food…theres a really lame song about donuts…well that’s where todays post title was from. I’m going to try and attach 2 documents. One my april meal plan and the other my running list of foods we eat in case you want inspiration. In my attempt at financing our adoption I’m trying to slash out food budget even more…although I’d love to know what a real food budget for a family of 4 should look like. I really feel we don’t spend too much and I add diapers into that since I usually stack coupons and get them pretty cheap.

Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday
          1 2
             
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
  Zucchini soup with chicken- Paula Deen recipe 30 mins Stuffed Baked potatoes with broccoli, cheese, bacon Grilled cheese, fruit, leftover soup Trip Trip Shepards Pie, fruit
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
  Meatloaf- limas, corn Chicken pesto pasta French toast, fruit, eggs Zuppa Toscana Blackeyed peas, rice, cornbread Leftovers
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
  Salad with fruit Sloppy joes, carrots, mac n cheese Baked chicken, beans, fruit Pasta with squash, peas, and parm cheese Good Friday- church? Pizza- homemade
24 25 26 27 28 29 30
EASTER Grits, eggs Chicken pot pie Spaghetti with meatballs Bean burritos/nachos Chili leftovers
             
             

Okay that looks silly but you get the picture…okay I didn’t do the 1st and 2nd because we were celebrating dads 50th bday and I just found out when so we will probably just fix something from the freezer…maybe lasagna cuz it’s in there. I also didn’t plan the major christian holidays cuz those usually involve a church service and a trip to someone’s family’s house…and since I plan a lot further in advance than our families…well I’m leaving it open. I also don’t plan sunday nights since we have small group and usually eat there or eat something else leftoverish.

This isn’t the exhaustive list cuz I’ve got one more paper to update it with but here ya go:

Ground Beef dishes

Tacos

Sloppy Joes

Spaghetti

Chili

Meatloaf

Shepards pie

Burgers and gravy

 

Chicken Dishes

Tacos

Pot pie

BBQ shredded

Teriyaki

Lawry’s chicken

Pesto Chicken

Baked chicken

Chicken Broccoli bake

 

Pastas

Lasagna

Ziti

Squash with peas and parmesean

Ravioli

 

Soups

Ham and Bean

Zucchini chicken

Beef stew

White chicken chili

Zuppa Toscana

Veggie soup

 

Other Dishes:

Mexican-tacos, quesadillas, nachos, enchiladas,

Grilled Cheese with or without soup

Kielbasa

French toast

Grits and eggs

Pigs n blankets

Pancakes

Braids from cresent rolls

Pizza

Stuffed peppers

Fish

Shrimp

 

More Expensive cuts of meat dishes:

Pot roast n gravy

BBQ pork

Beef tips and rice

Cube steak

Roast

Pork chops

Sliced Ham

Pork Tenderloin

Turkey

 

Yep by far the most random post I’ve ever done…hope you can get some inspiration!

 

5 Responses to “Well she looked at the donut and she looked at me”

  1. kimist March 28, 2011 at 10:36 am #

    And I usually throw fruit out as a snack for the girls while I cook so don’t hate that all food groups aren’t well represented

  2. Annie_g March 28, 2011 at 11:23 am #

    You’re on the right track! You have lots of meatless meals, which is a great way to control your food budget. You like soup much more than we do, which is a good thing. I had forgotten about the pasta with squash, peas, and parmesan! Now, when squash goes below $2 a pound, I’ll make it. There’s something wrong- last week I bought chicken breasts for 99 cents a pound but zucchini was $2.50 a pound.
    We have grits and eggs about three times a month. One of our favorites!

  3. Michelle March 28, 2011 at 12:29 pm #

    Wow! I really want to give at least a two week plan a try. I usually go one week at a time and do good to plan for that. I also really need to give learning the coupon tricks and honest try. Thanks so much for sharing. Who knows, I may have an April menu planned before the end of the week.

  4. kimist March 28, 2011 at 1:36 pm #

    2 weeks is easy too because you can use things like I’m doing week 3 and 4. The baked chicken will be a whole one and leftovers frozen for the pot pie the next week. It’s also easy to do if you want to rotate like every other week have italian night or mexican night that way it doesn’t get old. I’m a pasta lover but didn’t marry one so I’ve gotta go light on the pasta dishes. Good luck!

  5. Kristin March 28, 2011 at 2:56 pm #

    Thanks for sharing. I am still not motivated to plan a month of meals but I really think the categorized list is a great idea. Going to make a list today that way I can look at what I have on hand and my list and then plan meals for the week.

Leave a Reply

