I dream a little dream…

1 Apr

I finished reading a book this week entitled, Surprised By Worship by Travis Cottrell.  There were a lot of great things in it.  If you are a worship leader or a worship pastor I would strongly recommend it.  It is a very quick read.  With there being so much in this small book, I could write for days, but I would like to pull out one concept that he raises toward the end of the book.

In chapter 8 of the book, Travis is telling about a recent process that he went through in trying to decide his place in ministry.  He makes a statement in the chapter that had a huge impact on me as I read it.  In reference to a possible ministry position he says that part of the job would be “dreaming of crazy-big things to do for the glory of God with a pastor whom [he] loves.”  When I read that, I immediately thought of my position where I currently am.  I had never articulated it that way, but I knew I felt that way as soon as I read it.  It is so exciting to be in a position where I truly can dream of crazy-big things to do for the glory of God with a pastor whom I love.  My pastor is an incredible man of God who is not afraid to be on the cutting edge of ministry techniques and possibilities.  Therefore, as the worship pastor at our church, I also have the freedom to dream big for the glory of God in the realm of music and creative arts.  It is a very exciting and daunting position in which to be.  However, I would not trade it for anything.  God is here with us, and He is blessing left an right.  I don’t say that to make you think that things are easy.  In fact, they are very hard at times, but (as cliche as this sounds) I have never felt more in the middle of God’s plan for my life.

Being at a church plant for the first time has taken some adjustment, but I am absolutely loving the ride that God has me on.

One Response to “I dream a little dream…”

  1. kimist April 1, 2011 at 8:59 am #

    I’m glad you are happy. Makes it easier to say goodbye each day when you have to leave. we love you

Leave a Reply

