There goes my Hero watch Him as He goes

16 Jun

Oswald Chambers once wrote, “The sense of our duty is only realized by our sense of the heroic.”  This morning in my devotion time I was reading John 15, and in verses 13-15 Jesus says, “Greater love has no one than this, that someone lay down his life for his friends. You are my friends if you do what I command you. No longer do I call you servants, for the servant does not know what his master is doing; but I have called you friends, for all that I have heard from my Father I have made known to you.”  In our culture the hero is an individual who is looked upon as a greater individual.  Webster defines a hero as, “a person who admired or idealized for courage, outstanding achievements, or noble qualities.”  This would definitely describe Jesus, and if we adhere to the words of Jesus, it should describe us as well.

Jesus laid down His life so that we might have salvation.  There is a big difference between laying down your life and simply dying.  Implicit in laying down your life is a willingness to make a sacrifice.  This is not the case when simply dying.  Jesus is the ultimate hero in that He laid down His life for humanity.

In turn, we as Christ followers must live with the understanding that we are called to lay down our lives everyday.  We should act as little heros each day and strive to follow Christ example of being the ultimate hero in laying down our lives for our friends.

Leave a Reply

