Only God can judge me…

17 Jun

Thank you Tupac for those profound words.  You know that almost all of us would ascribe to this mantra, but the fact of the matter is that God is not the only one who judges others, especially in the Christian world.  The human race is a judgmental group of people, and unfortunately, in the general sense, Christianity usually leads the pack.  Jesus knew that this would be the case at some point, and that’s why He addressed the subject directly in The Sermon on the Mount.  Matthew 7:1-6 is the famous passage concerning judgment in which Jesus teaches that we should “remove the log from our own eye before we point out the speck in another person’s eye.”

The fact of the matter is that if we are living with a judgmental spirit it will be nearly impossible to experience true intimacy with God.  If you are living with this kind of attitude, you are so focused one what is wrong with everyone else and you cannot focus on what God is trying to say to you.  Having this type of attitude also puts a person in the unwarranted position of superiority when in reality you are no more superior than the next person.  This is an especially strong temptation when you are in church leadership.

In an attempt to be completely transparent, I can say that I have been in this position more than once.  The position that I currently find myself in is allowing my family and I to visit other churches on a weekly basis.  I have found myself being rather judgmental of certain aspects of the services that we attend.  I hate that I have found myself doing this this.  These people are doing what God has called and gifted them to do, and who in the world am I to judge their skill level or ability.  Jesus tells us to cultivate an uncritical attitude so that we are not placing ourselves in the position of superiority.

Therefore, I encourage you today to live in the light of the fact that you are not ultimate in this world.  People will make mistakes and will do things not quite as good as you might think you would have done them.  Have a gentle spirit that can be engaged and molded by God rather than one that is hard and judgmental.

Leave a Reply

