Time after time our God is faithful, trustworthy Savior.

22 Jul

There have been days in my life when I have wondered, “What have I done to make God stop loving me?” or “Why has God’s mindset toward me changed?” However, the truth is that God has never changed the way He thinks about me.  A. W. Tozer writes, “It seems to be very hard for us to comprehend the importance of the fact that Christ does not change and that there is no fluctuation in His character, in His nature, in His resources, in His love and mercy.”  That statement could not be any more true.

As fickle humans we change what we think, the way we feel, whom we love, and whom we show mercy to on and absolute whim.  Therefore, on earth we don’t currently have a point of reference for a being that truly never changes in any aspect of his essence or state.  Maybe that is why it is so hard for us to understand that God’s love for us, as children of His grace, is unchanging.  Even when we totally jack up everything in front of us, He still loves us.  Even when things don’t go the way we think they should, He still loves us.  Even when things literally fall apart, or dissolve, in front of us, He still loves us.

Tozer also wrote, “His interest in us and His purposes for us have not changed.”  While I may have had an improper understanding of what I thought God’s purpose for me was and is, the actual purpose has never changed.  I was marked before the foundations of the earth were laid.  Therefore, with this in mind I am finding great encouragement this morning in the words of Hebrews 13:8, “Jesus Christ is the same yesterday and today and forever.”

Leave a Reply

