Taste and see

6 Aug

So I just finished reading Tim Keller’s The Prodigal God, and I absolutely loved it.  Great book Mr. Keller!!  I wanted to discuss a thought from the final chapter of the book that I love.

On page 120/121 he writes, “Salvation is not only objective and legal but also subjective and experiential.”  I find that I think about my life, there are times when I fall into the camp of looking at salvation as only a legal exchange.  I often view it as simply the transaction of Jesus righteousness for my shame and sin.  However, I understand that salvation is so much more than that.  I have resolved to challenge myself to begin experiencing Jesus in a more subjective way.  there is so much more to salvation than just the transaction.  I am drawn to verses like Psalm 34:8 which says, “O, taste and see that the Lord is good!”  I crave to be able to taste and see how good the Lord is.  I want my understanding of salvation to be one of experiencing who the Lord is and how costly the grace I have been shown truly is.

That’s all my musings for this evening.  Looking forward to worshiping with fellow believers in the morning.

Leave a Reply

