I will dance I will sing to be mad for my King

18 Aug

While in the middle of an impromptu dance party this afternoon, I suddenly came to a realization.  My kids have a better understanding of what it means to become undignified in worship than I do.  We were listening the Hillsong Kids Ultimate Collection album as we danced around.  Wee-wood 1 knows the words to the songs and is starting to understand what they mean.  She was talking about how much she loved singing songs to Jesus as she jumped up and down and spun around.  When she said that it dawned on me that she was totally free in her 4 year old type of worship and not at all worried about what anyone else said or thought.  I immediately thought of David in 2 Samuel 6.  Verses 14 – 16 read this way:

“And David danced before the LORD with all his might.  And David was wearing a linen ephod.  So David and all the house of Israel brought up the ark of the LORD with shouting and with the sound of the horn.  As the ark of the LORD came into the city of David, Michal the daughter of Saul looked out of the window and saw King David leaping and dancing before the LORD, and she despised him in her heart.”

Then skipping down to verses 20-22:

“And David returned to bless his household.  But Michal the daughter of Saul came out to meet David and said, “How the king of Israel honored himself today, uncovering himself today before the eyes of his servants’ female servants, as one of the vulgar fellows shamelessly uncovers himself!”  And David said to Michal, “It was before the LORD, who chose me above your father and above all his house, to appoint me as prince over Israel, the people of the LORD – and I will make merry before the LORD.  I will make myself yet more contemptible than this, and I will be abased in your eyes.  But by the female servants of whom you have spoken, by them I shall be held in honor.”

David did not have a care in the world as he worshiped His Father in heaven.  He worshiped as the Lord led him to worship.  Wee-wood 1 worshiped as God led her to worship in dancing and singing songs.  I was convicted when I thought about how concerned I am at times about what other people think about the way that I worship.  I need to be concerned with one individual and one individual alone.  It is worship TO God.  My only concern is pleasing Him and bringing a smile to His face with my worship as I pour out my heart back to Him.

How about you?  What is the object and concern of your worship?

Leave a Reply

