It’s Your story, I’m just a page…

14 Sep

There are a couple things that are dominating my thoughts this afternoon.  Number one is Psalm 139.  Verse 4 reads, “Even before a word is on my tongue, behold, O LORD, you know it altogether.”  Verses 13-14 and 16 read, “For you formed my inward parts; you knitted me together in my mother’s womb.  I praise you, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made.  Wonderful are your works; my soul knows it very well…Your eyes saw my unformed substance; in your book were written, every one of them, the days that were formed for me, when as yet there were non of them.”  God knows me!  How amazing a thought!!  The Creator of the entire universe knows me, and He knows me intimately.  I find incredible comfort and reassurance in this knowledge.  Being that God knows everything about me and He knows what each of my days on earth hold, and He has known them since eternity past, I can rest in the knowledge that He will direct me into the path that He has planned for me.  Therefore, I can know when I read in Romans 8:28, “And we know that for those who love God all things work together for good, for those who are called according to his purpose” God has His definition of good in mind when He planned my days out.  What I mean is that God has my best at heart for me.  However, my best in no way means my comfort, happiness, or ease.  I cannot wait to see what God has planned for our family in the days to come.

The other thing I’ve been dwelling on is a quote from Charles Spurgeon that is related to Psalm 139.  “If we go with Jesus we must be content to face what He faces, and when the waves are rough for Him they will be rough for us.”  I have found that when you walk with Jesus there are going to be very rough seas, but honestly there is no better place to be.  I would rather face the rough seas with Christ asleep in the stern than spend countless nights on a calm sea without Him.  I mean who am I to think that I can be a follower of Christ who will have a smooth ride through the entirety of my days on earth.  God has not called us to comfort and ease, but rather He has called us to holiness.  I am simply following along and plugging into His story that He is writing though history.  I am content to be a page in that story, and truly that is more than enough for me.

Leave a comment