Oh praise Him Hallelujah my delight and my reward…

9 May

There are times in life when things come along that are just straight up difficult.  It is not necessarily a life or death type of thing, but rather a situation that is just hard.  You know what I’m talking about.  Those times when you would rather the thing that is before you be something that is behind you.  We have all been in those types of situations.  What are we supposed to do during these times?  Is the Christian to simply press forward through it in his own power, grinning and bearing it all the while?  Or is there something else?

I have been reading several of the psalms each morning for a while now, and it just so happened that this morning the few that I read speak directly to what we are to do during these times of difficulty. Quite honestly, I have worshiped through reading the Word today already.  Psalm 55:22 says, “Cast your burden on the LORD, and he will sustain you; he will never permit the righteous to be moved.”  Here we find an answer to the question proposed above.  God never intended for us to face difficulty alone.  Read again in Psalm 56:3-4 where David writes, “When I am afraid I put my trust in you.  In God, whose word I praise, in God I trust; I shall not be afraid.”  Finally in Psalm 62:5-7 we find this, “For God alone, O my soul, wait in silence, for my hope is from him.  He only is me rock and my salvation, my fortress; I will not be shaken.  On God rests my salvation and my glory, my mighty rock, my refuge is God.”  We can clearly see that when we find ourselves presented with difficulty, but also when things are seemingly great, we are to delight ourselves in God, our salvation and rock.  God will provide the strength and direction to face whatever may come our way.  Now this does not mean that the situation will become instantly easy, but when we are delighting in our God we can make it through.  We have to trust in Him and find our everything in Him and trust in Him to provide everything for us.  John Piper once said, “The beauty of the covenant keeping love of Christ and His church shine brightest when nothing but Christ can sustain it.”  How true!  Our reward in this life, and the next for that matter, is not being right or winning or getting our way.  Our reward is Jesus!  He is what we are striving for, racing toward, and laboring to gain.  Christ is the end!  Not heaven, not eternal riches, not a big house on Golden Way in heaven.  

Our delight and reward is Jesus.

Leave a Reply

