In this walk we face many battles

2 Dec

I recently read a blog post about a mom not knowing how brave she would become through the journey of motherhood. This has really echoed with me. Becoming a mother has really helped me gain lots of self-confidence. It has certainly allowed me to use and expand all my medical knowledge, and stretch myself mentally, physically, emotionally and spiritually. It’s shown me how to self-lessly love someone. To give them the last bite of my favorite dessert, to find more patience than I never imagined having, and to fight for someone so hard even if I didn’t birth them.

I’ve only been a mom for 5.5 years but I can say I wish someone would’ve told me how much I would have to fight in the name of LOVE. I fight monthly to keep $45 set aside for Wee-Wood 1’s ballet class. I vividly recall fighting hard to get Wee-wood 2 readmitted to the ER for the second time in one night when I knew the doctor had a wrong diagnosis. And for two years I fought for Wee-wood 3 just to get here. I fought to explain adoption to those who love us. I fought to grow myself mentally thorough much heartache to become the mom I am today.

Don’t get me wrong I love how hard I have to fight…it’s hard but rewarding. There are very few things that give me the self-confidence that raising kids does. I know I have a long way to go but I’m thankful I learned early on to fight for them and to truly love them.

One Response to “In this walk we face many battles”

  1. william kellett December 11, 2012 at 4:27 pm #

    I feel you are both very good parents and you will have wonderful children that will grow up knowing Christ and loving their parants for the way they were raised. Love you Grandpa

Leave a Reply

