Hello my name is Child of the One True King

12 Feb

I’m a dad. I’m a husband. I’m a son. I’m a brother. I’m a friend. I’m a singer. I’m a musician. I’m a worker. I am all of these things, but these things are not who I am or where my identity is found.

When I was nine, I felt the Holy Spirit calling me to Himself in a way that I had not before. I heard the gospel of Christ and God opened my eyes to see my deep need for a Savior. It was that day in August of 1993 that I gained my identity. I became identifies with Christ through His life, death, and resurrection. Now that doesn’t mean that any of the things I mentioned above, and many more for that matter, were eradicated, but they did change. Yes all of those things are true of me, but my identity is not on them. If any one of those things were to be no more, while it would be gut-wrenching to not have that as a part of my life, my life would not be over. Yes I would be sad, but again those things are not my identity. My identity is in Christ.

1 John 3:1a says, “See what kind of love the Father has given to us, that we should be called children of God; and so we are.” For those who have been drawn to Christ through the wooing of the Holy Spirit, we gain the right to be called the children of God. WOW! A child of the one true King. That is amazing!

In Galatians 3:27-29 Paul writes, “For as many of you as were baptized into Christ have put on Christ. There is neither Jew nor Greek, there is neither slave nor free, there is no male and female, for you are all one in Christ Jesus. And if you are Christ’s, then you are Abraham’s offspring, heirs according to promise.” Those of us in Christ have a new name tag, if you will. We have put on Christ and we are identified in Him.

So here is the challenge. No matter what the world tries to say you are, if you are in Christ then you belong to Him. And you can proudly say, “I’m a child of the one true King!” Remember that circumstances and situations do not define who you are.

Leave a Reply

