Spirit of the Living God we just wanna hear Your voice. We’re hanging on every word…

20 Feb

I wonder how many of us can truly say this. How often do we come to God with our requests but never stop to listen to what He has to say to us? I know I am guilty of it. I am in such a hurry with the trivial things of life that I don’t make time to sit and listen to what the Lord has to say to me. I am ashamed to admit that, but there is also a sense of freedom in that admission.

I want more and more of God. I want to hang on His every word. I want to sit and simply listen to Him, and I want to let Him speak life into me. I know that I can’t continue without Him doing so. I am committing to seeking after God more earnestly in times of prayer. I don’t mean simply praying more. I mean praying more intentionally, and carving out time to sit and listen. Why are we so afraid of silence as a culture? (That’s a topic for another post) I want to be cognizant of making sure that I am using the time I have wisely. And what more wise use of my time than to sit and let the Lord speak over me?

What is keeping you from spending time with the Lord and hanging on His every word? Is it the television? Is it some form of social media? Whatever it may be, it’s not more important than talking with the Creator of the universe. Take time to listen to Him today.

Leave a Reply

