Just to see you smile…

11 Mar

So last night I took our five-year-old on a date. I like to do that periodically. I think it’s important that I spend time with each of my children individually from time to time. The thing that struck me about the evening was that our five-year-old was overjoyed just to have time alone with me. I love our five-year-old just like I love all four of our kids. She is such a joy to be around. She is the funniest kid I have ever met. She can bring humor into any situation just about. The fact is I spent the evening with her and as I watched her face and as I talk to her and as I listen to her I noticed that she just loved being with me. She was soaking up every second of being with dad. And I couldn’t help but think of my relationship with my heavenly Father.

How often have I looked at time with the Father as something that is a chore? I should never consider it to be a chore. I should be overjoyed just to get to spend time with my Father. I’ve been struggling over the past couple weeks to get up early enough to spend time with my heavenly Father. I don’t talk about it as if it’s some sort of thing that will earn me more salvation. I talk about it as it’s a thing that I want to do but I can’t seem to do it. I now understand what Paul was talking about.

The fact is I know that just as much as I am overjoyed when I spend time with the Father, He revels in it as well. I just want to make him smile.

Leave a Reply

