The Fringe Hours

26 Mar

He-wood and I are avid readers but sadly ever since wee-wood 3 we’ve become terrible bloggers. We’ve both decided to try and get back into it. So today I wanted to tell you of my latest read: The Fringe Hours by Jessica Turner. As mothers we often neglect ourselves and her book encourages us to do better at this. Something I rarely do is paint my fingernails-mostly because in 2.7seconds they’re already chipping. So y’all awesome ladies need to tell me your secret nail polish tricks.

Anyhow, besides reading, and pampering myself-ie a haircut, I did a bit of quilting. Something I DSC_0459LOVE. My mom has never gotten a quilt of mine but i have gotten many and ahem stolen one…ok ok she insisted I take it but I think my youngest sister is plotting its safe rescue! So I saw fit that she have a new quilt for her bed, in fact its the largest quilt I’ve done to date! HUGE I tell you! I used many fringe hours or days to get this done in record breaking time.

I have to admit I am very blessed with a husband that allows me time and money to pursue my passions. So husbands out there take notice, grab your wife the book and take the kids so she can care for herself a bit.

I think my biggest take away from the book is to ask for help! I am terrible about asking for help to get things done, like going to the doctor alone, haircut without holding a baby, or sewing, or being in Bible study. I was also reminded that all stages in life can be crazy busy and women impose stupid standards on themselves and could possibly use our help. So I’m going to try and ask if I can help others and I’m going to ask for help more often.

6 Responses to “The Fringe Hours”

  1. amberlynnpaulsen March 26, 2015 at 8:45 am #

    Awe! This quilt is so breathtaking, so beautiful! Praise God! Thankful that you were able to find your fringe hours to get this project done. And how generous of you to give to your mom. God bless you and your family!
    *I found your blog through the (in)courage post today. 🙂

  2. Lyli @ 3-D Lessons for Life March 26, 2015 at 10:27 am #

    It’s amazing how we love to help others, but dislike asking for help. I am thankful for Jessica’s nudge in this direction.

  3. Brenda March 26, 2015 at 12:13 pm #

    Such a beautiful quilt ~ what a gift to be able to do that.

    I’m terrible at asking for help too…I know of what you speak.

    ((hug))

  4. kimist March 26, 2015 at 12:46 pm #

    Thanks ladies! I think the asking to help others makes us feel good but asking others to help goes back to the standards we impose on ourselves to do it all. We have to admit we aren’t supermoms…do guys struggle with this?! Why is it so prevalent in women?

  5. Heather March 31, 2015 at 9:56 am #

    Love the quilt! I haven’t tried quilting before, I find it intimidating because I think of quilts as so large – maybe I should start with a small one and see where it takes me. I do love all things sewing/knitting/crafting 🙂

    • kimist March 31, 2015 at 11:45 am #

      You should try! There are many small projects like doll quilts (if there is a little girl in your life) or mug rugs for your side tables. My first projects were a baby quilt and a lap quilt for my husband!

Leave a Reply

