All scripture is breathed out by God and.

15 Oct

All scripture is breathed out by God and profitable for teaching, for reproof, for correction, and for training in righteousness.

2 Tim 3:16

Were you able to finish the title from memory? I hope so because if you did you have a reason why knowing scripture is important! If we don’t know it how can we use it for the purposes in 2 Timothy chapter 3?

If I love my husband (which I do) but I don’t know what he likes, things he says, etc do I really show him I love him. But if I bring home a new book by Tim Keller,  a pumpkin spiced latte, and a Reese’s cup he thinks he has hit the jackpot. The same thing happens when we know scripture and memorize it. I know what Jason likes because I listen to him….similarly I know attributes of God’s character because I’ve read and memorized his Word.

During tough days of our adoption I could recall James 1:27 and remember that God cares for orphans and has called us to as well. During exciting times like a few years ago when we became debt free it was important to remember to be thankful-Psalm 118:1.

This one is hard…like really really HARD. I’ll I’ve tried every trick in the book to memorize scripture and it doesn’t get any easier. Discipline in this area is a must. I’ve found that writing and seeing it over and over are most helpful…my children like it in song, drawings, or hearing. You have to figure out what works for you.

So what step can you take today to up your memorization game? Me I’m going to set a new verse on my phone and let it remind me daily, that way I can’t ignore it and my kids can’t run off with it and spill chocolate milk on it. #justbeingreal

Leave a Reply

